Preparing for Departure

My time in Jersey has been full of making final decisions in preparation for departure. I’ve done two big shopping trips to get the few items that I’ll wear for the next year, have had numerous conversations with tech people from Verizon and Best Buy about phone and computer options, have backed up all my files onto an external hard drive, have ordered so many random supplies on Amazon that the mail people in my parents’ building now recognize me, and have gotten visas and hostels for three different countries.

My first flight is almost here, and while every day I check off multiple items from my to do list I also add more so that it just feels never-ending.

At some level, this never-ending feeling may just extend throughout the next year. No matter where I am, I will soon have to figure out where I’m going next, how I’m going to get there, where I’m going to stay, and what I’m going to do. As soon as I get to a place I’ll be able to delete its logistics off the list, but then I’ll have to add on logistics for the next location.

I’m hoping I’ll have a mental balance about this. As I said before, I don’t want this trip to be about crossing off lists. Unfortunately there is still a degree of planning that must happen at stages throughout it. However while my list right now consists of things like “practice packing,” my list in the future will have things like “pick bus or plane to get to Santiago.” That sounds a lot more fun, doesn’t it?

10 day countdown.

One comment

Leave a Reply

