Packed and Ready to Go

I’m all packed. As someone who has a bad habit of packing very last minute and overpacking, this was a big accomplishment for me. I started out with an idea of how much I could bring, and in my typical packing style grabbed way more than that and laid it all out. Then I started the process of elimination.

They key is that every top I’m bringing can be worn with every bottom. I tried to have a bit of variety – at one point I had out two green v-neck t-shirts and two gray t-shirts, that really would have been wearing the same thing every day – and allowed myself one non-plain shirt per category. I found myself bored with all the solids so I threw in something different in each style. I did actually try on everything I’m bringing just to make sure it all works.

Here they are, my clothes for the next year:

photo_1[1]

Not bad right? This is what I’m bringing:

  • 3 t-shirts
  • 4 sleeveless shirts
  • 1 comfy long sleeve shirt (pre-treated with insect repellent!)
  • 1 nice long sleeve shirt (sometimes I’ll want to actually look decent at a dinner)
  • 1 pair of shorts
  • 1 pair of ankle length black Gap Body athletic pants
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 black maxi skirt
  • 1 bathing suit
  • a weeks worth of underwear and socks
  • 4 bras from regular to varying degrees of sports bras
  • 1 pair of athletic shorts and tank to sleep in (this was a last minute addition)
  • 1 packable rain jacket (Marmot)
  • 1 packable coat (one of those synthetic down ones that’s really warm and gets really small, by Mountain Hardwear)
  • 1 pair of low ankle hiking shoes
  • 1 slip on day shoe
  • 1 pair of flip flops
  • 1 pair of fold up black flats (again last minute and for the occasional nights I want to give the other shoes a rest)

I ended up allowing myself 1 more of everything than I planned. So that overpacking habit didn’t exactly go away. But it all still fits so I’m starting out with all of this and if I need to make changes on the road I can. Plus when it’s all packed up, it takes up no more room than this:

photo_2[1]

Packing cubes are a traveler’s best friend. Everything I just listed (except the shoes and jackets) is in those two cubes. It’s all contained and hopefully will help reduce wrinkling at least a little, although it’s inevitable that it will all end up wrinkled. One cube is tops – shirts, bras – and one is bottoms – pants, underwear, socks – and everything in both is rolled to take up less space.

In addition to what I’m wearing, I have three other small packing cubes: electronics, medical kit, toiletries. I could list everything that is in these, but it’s a lot of little things and you can easily find these lists online or in RTW planning books. To summarize, I have medicines to cover itching to colds to common problems travelers have adjusting to new foods, in addition to my malaria pills. I have all manners of getting clean and minimal items to make me look pretty (aka not really much makeup). I have some helpful survival tools like duct tape, water purification tables, compass, headlamp, foldable 1L water bottle, and a leatherman. And I have all the chargers and GoPro mounts I need to make sure I can post more pictures along the way.

This is how it looks all packed up:

photo_4[1]    photo_3[1]

Honestly it is not as big as I thought it would be, and not too heavy really. These packs are engineered so well that it doesn’t feel nearly as bad as it probably sounds like it would, carrying all of that. Then again I haven’t run through a crowded town trying to catch a bus with this on my back yet, so I’ll let you know if I say the same thing when that happens.

Then I got an awesome second bag for a day bag. I can’t rave about this bag enough from Fjallraven (mine is navy). It is a tote bag and shoulder bag, but it is also a backpack and a messenger bag. It is waterproof, rolls up to barely anything when I don’t need it, and has a laptop sleeve inside that is well hidden. Durable and with a zipper that I can keep a hand on while walking through crowded cities, it has everything I wanted and never thought I’d find in one bag. And with a lifetime guarantee, I see this thing lasting for a long long time. (Thank you to my friends who brought me to this store. On the way they told me: “You will buy something here.” I was skeptical. You guys were right.)

So there it is, I’m ready to go. Or at least my clothes are ready to go. As for my mental state, well, we’ll see how I feel at the end of the day.

…Ok so I’m cheating a little. I’ll be in Rio de Janeiro for 2 weeks with friends, and since I have all this extra room in my bag, I’m bringing a Rio-only set of clothing that I plan to ditch once I leave. But 2 weeks in Rio during the World Cup deserves some fun outfits! So when you see pictures of me not in anything I just listed above, that will be why. When I leave Rio though this list will be it. I’m just allowing myself a little fun in the beginning. Nothing wrong with that right?

One comment

Leave a Reply

