6 Months

Today is officially 6 months since I left the US. June 21 – December 21.

Technically, this means I have just 3 months left of my trip.

Realistically, I’m thinking this is halfway.

The past 6 months have been incredible. Setting out on this journey I knew I would have a life-changing experience but I had no idea how it would happen. I couldn’t have predicted the specifics – my reaction to the different locations, the fast bonds I formed with people, the parts of myself that have flourished, diminished, or been discovered along the way – but I could have predicted that at this point I would be addicted to the nomadic lifestyle.

Which is why it is too hard to give it up just yet. I’ve had my ups and downs, complete with “best time of my life” statements and the unfortunate travel fatigue, and I wouldn’t want it any other way. Those moments are what make this trip complete. I’ve come to a place now where I am excited about the path of self-discovery that I am on, in addition to the ever-present excitement about the new places I am seeing. It has been a long journey to get here and it’s not over, not even close.

I don’t have any stats to give about how many miles I’ve traveled but I can say that I’ve been to 12 countries across 3 continents so far, all with their own language barriers and currency conversions, and might be adding a few new ones that weren’t on the original itinerary. I can say that there are certain cities, countries, or regions that have meant more to me than others and that I eagerly hope to return to one day. I can say that I have become comfortable with alone time, self-sufficiency, flexibility, embracing the unknown, overcoming obstacles, engaging strangers in conversation, and using hand signals to communicate. I can say that I miss people around the world who I did and did not know when I left 6 months ago, and that I have and will reunite with a handful of them as I keep going. To the people I knew before, you still mean the world to me, and I am so happy we’ve kept in touch. To the people I met in the past 6 months, you have made this experience the absolute best it could be and I thank you and can’t wait to see you all again, in the near or far future.

With the New Year approaching 2014 recaps are flooding social media. It’s hard for me to even process my 2014. It began when I officially declared I would be leaving on this adventure, and at the halfway point I boarded my first flight. Half a year dedicated to see-you-soon’s and half a year dedicated to nice-to-meet-you’s. It’s undoubtedly my most interesting year of life so far.

So cheers to 2014 and to 6 months gone by already. Hard to believe how fast it went, easy to believe how awesome it was.

IMG_4231

Leave a Reply

